Texas Tech running back DeAndre Washington (Missouri City, Texas/Thurgood Marshall H.S.) was named to the preseason watch list for the prestigious Maxwell Award, which honors the nation’s top college football player of the year.

In 2014, Washington earned All-Big 12 Second Team honors after becoming just the seventh player in school history to run for over 1,000 yards and the first player at Tech since Ricky Williams in 1998 to accomplish that feat. Washington finished the year ranked among Big 12 leaders in a variety of statistical categories including yards per carry (2nd, 5.9), 100-yard rushing performances (2nd, four), rushing yardage (3rd, 1,103), rushing yards per game (3rd, 91.9) and all-purpose yards (6th, 1,431). He also caught 30 passes for 328 yards and two touchdowns. His top rushing performances came at Iowa State when he ran for 186 yards and scored a pair of touchdowns and at Kansas (164 yards).

Over his three-year, 36-game career, Washington has rushed for 1,919 yards on 372 carries and nine touchdowns. He has also caught 83 passes for 706 yards and two touchdowns. A two-time Academic All-Big 12 recipient, Washington ranks among school leaders in season rushing yards (9th, 1,103) and needs just 330 more yards to rank among the school’s all-time top-10 in career rushing yards.

Created in 1937, the Maxwell Award was named in honor of Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, whose contributions to football as player, sportswriter and official were extensive. Additional information about the Maxwell Award can be found at www.ncfaa.org.

Texas Tech defensive lineman Pete Robertson (Longview, Texas/Longview H.S.) was named to the preseason watch list for the prestigious Chuck Bednarik Award, which honors the nation’s top defensive player.

Since 1995, the Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation’s top defensive player by the Maxwell Football Club. Chuck Bednarik, former standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 1969 and the NFL Hall of Fame’s Class of 1967.

In 2014, Robertson earned All-Big 12 honors for the second consecutive season while leading the Red Raiders in five defensive statistical categories: sacks (12), total tackles (81), tackles for loss (14.5-74), forced fumbles (three) and quarterback hurries (seven). He ranked sixth nationally and led the Big 12 in sacks (12), the most by a Red Raider player since Brandon Sharpe registered 19.0 in 2009. His 12 sacks last year also ranked as the fourth highest season total in school history. He also became the first Texas Tech player since 1996 to register a sack in six consecutive games (Sept. 25-Nov. 1, 2014).

Over his three-year, 40-game and 25-start Red Raider career, Robertson has made 161 total tackles (101 solo) and totaled 16.0 sacks along with two interceptions. With his 16.0 career sacks, he enters his senior year ranked ninth in career sacks. His career highs include 12 tackles vs. Arizona State in 2013, three tackles for loss vs. Baylor in 2014 and two sacks three times.

Additional information about the Bednarik Award can be found at www.ncfaa.org.

Robertson, Washington and Texas Tech open the 2015 season on Saturday, Sept. 5 by hosting Sam Houston State at Jones AT&T Stadium. Season tickets are still on sale and can be purchased by calling 806-742-TECH or by visiting www.texastech.com.